Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 12-02-2011, 01:46 PM   #1
TooshyToScream

Default Prior authorization and suboxone

So my insurance makes me go through a prior authorization process the first time I get suboxone. Which means the doctor has to verify that I truly need the medication and I have to have a clean drug test, and then they give it to me for free. In the meantime though, I did get 10 of them for the first 5 days while I'm waiting for the prior auth to get done. Doctor prescribed me 16 for a week though and I need my other 6 soon. I've never done this prior auth crap before though so I don't really know what I'm supposed to do. The last time I talked to my doctor (2 days ago) he said that everything should be good in 24 hours. The pharmacy said that supposedly my insurance will call me and let me know when they approve it but I haven't gotten a call so I don't know whether I should go to the pharmacy and see if I can get the rest of my medication or call the doctor or what.
TooshyToScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
NancyB
Administrator

Hi TooshyToScream, you could call your insurance company and see what's going on. Maybe they neglected to call you. Or give the pharmacy a call and see if it came through. Fingers crossed that you're all set. Let us know.

Nancy
Important disclaimer: Any information in this post is not and does not constitute medical advice under any circumstances. Addiction Survivors, Inc. does not warranty or guarantee the accurateness, completeness, adequacy or currency of the information contained in or linked to the Site. Your use of information on the Site or materials linked to the Site is entirely at your own risk. NEVER take any online advice over that of a qualified healthcare provider. Any information contained on AddictionSurvivors.org should only serve to inspire further investigation with credible, verifiable references sources such as your physician or therapist.