Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 04-04-2010, 03:58 PM   #1
jayded

Default Weight gain with subutex anyone?

Why exactly did I gain weight while on subutex. I remember the doctor told me I would gain weight when on subutex. I looked at him like" yah whatever" since I walk 3 miles a day, I figured I was in the clear. Stupid me, I gained about 25 pounds after a few months. Has this rapid weight gain affected any of you?
jayded is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-19-2010, 06:18 PM   #2
jeanne71

I hope not. I am totally new to suboxzone. Only on my 3rd week. I find I don't have much of an appitite, have more energy but am starting to feel bloated. I was hoping to start an excersize program to lose weight, but now I don't know. I am already very heavy and don't need more weight. I'll talk to my doctor about this
jeanne71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2010, 01:09 AM   #3
HumboldtGrown

I had weight gain when i stopped suboxone a month and a half ago, I'm moving around less and I've gained 3-4lbs since I stopped. For 3 years I was on suboxone, and stayed 105 with a flat tummy without even trying. 50 days off the stuff and I've got gas, I'm shitting more, and bloated all the time. It's the opposite of being constipated I think.

Either that or I'm eating more now that I"ve stopped? I know I'm less active for sure. suboxone gave me unlimited energy and/or motivation which now I don't have as much.

But, if you're all going from heroin (which makes you loose weight and skinny) to suboxone/subutex, probably weight gain would be a result of feeling more normal (being hungry, not sick all the time)
HumboldtGrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2010, 10:11 AM   #4
toms

My weight is usually steady no matter what I do When I went on methadone; I gained 40-50 lbs (though at 6'4" and 165lb; no biggie) Later; when I went to suboxone; I lost around half of that