Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 01-09-2008, 03:34 PM   #1
hydra

Default Side Effect... need some advice

Good afternoon. I am new to the site. I have been reading the posts for a few weeks now but finally registered today. I need some help and my doctor doesn't really seem to know much about the proper suboxone dosage for me. I will try to keep this as brief as possible.

I have been using opiates on and off for the past ten years. In the last year i was using every day (15 to 20 10mg/day)or until the pills would run out. If I did run out of the hydro's or perc's I would use Kratom or tramadol to help with the withdrawl symptoms until i could refill my prescription or find more pills. I am sick of quitting and then starting up again. I want the cycle to end so I decided to see a doctor about Suboxone.

When I went to the doctor I was not in withdrawals. I went on January 4th and I had not used anything since December 24th. I began weaning myself off the 2nd week of December. Anyways, here is my problem. The doctor prescribed me 8 mg twice a day. I took my first dose Friday afternoon and I felt very wierd. I felt the way you feel when you are coming down from a high... spacy, and pretty much like I was floating outside of my body. If that makes any sense. I continued the dosage as prescribed and I also experienced itching all over, selling in my fingers, wrists and ankles, difficulty urinating and well the bottom line is a feel 10 times worse than I did before I started. I have been lucky enough to be able to sleep well at night.

I told my doctor about the way I was feeling on Monday and he sounded shocked that I wasn't feeling perfect on the dose I was on and said I could try lowering my dose to 12 mg a day (4 in the morning and 8 at night). I did that yesterday. I know that suboxone has a long half life so I probably won't feel the difference in the lower dose until tomorrow. I was just curious if anyone else experienced anything like this.