Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 06-25-2007, 09:08 PM   #1
Hozz

Default Newbie here, Started Subz. today

Thank you so much for this forum it's been a godsend for me. Briefly, I'm a 48 yr old male who started with a back surgery in 98'. I've been on 120mg of ms contin and 6-8 percs everyday for the last 7 years.

I took my first sub (8mg) at 1:30pm (cst) today and feel 75% better. The 48 withdrawal was brutal and I sleep maybe 1/2 hour last night. My MD is a FMG and spent 10 mins with me in my initial assessment. Today I saw him for 5 min and he gave me a script for 3 - 8mg tabs. He wants to see me again tomorrow and Wednesday. (Probably wants the 100 bucks per visit) Anyways, is there anything I should be looking out for or will I be feeling like "normal" soon? I am not in a hurry to get off; I just want my life back.

Also, thanks for everyone posting their experiences, it was a real help and I congratulate everyone for trying to get off their DOC.
Hozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-25-2007, 09:31 PM   #2
Mike

Hi Hozz,
You'll feel better once your blood levels stabilize. The first week is the hardest, but it sounds like you are doing ok. It also looks like you addiction didn't get too out of hand in those 7 years, that's good. I was shooting heroin by year 5. I think you will feel normal in a few days and you may even be able to reduce your dose after a couple more weeks.

What is your pain status now? Do you still need some kind of pain relief? If so the sub might do it (or might not, everyone is different) but if you don't have pain you may be one of the few that won't need a long treatment because you were able to keep that compulsion relatively under control all that time. When you do decide to taper I recommend staying very busy and going very slow. That's what I did and it wasn't that bad. I still had some withdrawal but not enough to miss work and it didn't last very long.

Welcome to the board!!
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote