Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 03-28-2006, 08:10 AM   #1
erasers

Default Newbie Here ~~ Day 1 of Suboxone

Hello everyone...i am Sandra. I live in Oregon and i had my first dose of Suboxone today. I am excited to finally be doing something POSITIVE instead of throwing my money and health away on that darn Vicodin!! I don't feel GREAT today, still quite a bit of withdrawl symptoms, but i am OK...and i feel strong...i truly believe i can do it with the help of the suboxone. I have tried many times to give it up, and i get thru the withdrawl...but just don't seem to be able to function...and i end up going back onto the vicodin. The doctor i saw today gave me 8mg tabs, and told me to return to see him in 2 days. He also says i need to join a support group, which i am happy to do....although his leanings are VERY christian (bibles in the waiting room, pics or jesus everywhere...a religious radio station on) and that just isnt my thing...he tells me "god will help you thru this"...well...i think the suboxone will help me thru this and i hope to find a support group that isn't too "preachy" ...any ideas??
Thanks for listening, and letting me know i am not alone in this[:X] Sandra
erasers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2006, 08:21 AM   #2
OhioMike

Hi Sandra,

Welcome to the forum and welcome to getting your life back with the help of Suboxone. I too was a vicodin user. 100 tablets per day. Stick with the Suboxone, I have felt great, since 2 hours into my induction. However, I did inpatient. I have been going to NA meetings and I strongly recommend them. I have met some really great people and they can relate to what you have gone through. God or a higher power does play a part in NA, but, the groups I have shared with, do not ram that down your throat. You can also try AA meetings. I also attend those at a sober club and again, really nice people. Keep a log of how your are feeling and share everything with your doctor.

Best of luck & congratulations!