Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 06-15-2010, 03:06 PM   #1
38special

Smile new to site and suboxone. need advice

Hello everyone. I am new here This is my first time trying to get some support for this. I have a question for you that are experienced with suboxone. I have been on methadone for 3 years. I began the taper process in january, from 30mg, all the way down to 6mg last week. Since tapering from 10mg and under, I had a really hard time with the withdrawal symptoms, so decided to make the switch to suboxone. I just want to know, since I'm already in the taper process, how much longer I should stay on suboxone. My doctor is talking another year, but if I would have been off methadone in about 5 weeks, why would I need to drag it out yet another year? I am definitely ready to be done with treatment, however, don't want to rush the process either. I would like to talk to someone that was tapering from methadone and switched to suboxone. Any advice on when to start tapering would be greatly appreciated. I am currently on 2mg of suboxone, just started yesterday. May need to go up to 4mg, but am not sure yet. Only my second day, so I'll see how the day goes.
38special is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2010, 04:36 PM   #2
NancyB
Administrator

Hi 38special, welcome. The tapering off should be a joint decision between the patient and the doctor. Did the doctor say why you'd have to be on Suboxone for a year? When you were taking methadone, did you utilize other tools so that you'd have a good foundation of recovery for when you were medication free; such as counseling and groups; did you make the changes you needed to make - people, places, things - fix everything that may have been damaged during active addiction? Those are all things that will help in the success of any recovery program.