Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 09-28-2007, 02:18 AM   #1
jpekin

Default DO I LET MY DAUGHTER HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH HER?

my wife & I are devorced now. I have sole custidy of our 9 year old daughter. my X calls about every night & on occasion comes by to see her daughter. she is always extremely intoxicated & makes promices she never keeps.she refuses to get help & is in a state of denial. I have recently made the decision to cut all ties with her & not let her have any communication with my daughter.I'm tired of watching my daughters heart be broken.I am much more at ease not having to deal with her & my daughter seems to be fine not speeking to her,but I'm affraid I might have made the wrong decision.will this too brake her heart? will she be affected worse?
jpekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2007, 03:22 PM   #2
LeeRoy

jpekin,
I'm no expert, but people I've known grew up much more "affected" from an alcoholic parent than an absent one, or an ill one. Accepting that mommy is sick and needs to get better might be better understood than "why does mommy act this way?" I think you did the right thing and it might make your X wife seriously consider treatment. If she does it would be helpful if you could help her make treatment a reality by sifting through the bogus treatemnts and finding out what real treatments are out there that really work. Maybe an inpatient stay, medication, psychotherapy, or all of the above along with AA once sober is needed. Explore all options, there are many myths about treatment out there. This site seems reputable and the HBO site on addiction is also good.
Lee
LeeRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2007, 09:32 PM   #3
CASEY

Jpekin,