Addiction Survivors

Notices

Unread 10-17-2014, 08:29 AM   #1
livingsober

I am so sorry, somehow I lost livingsober's first post in moving all the posts to a new thread.

Nancy
livingsober is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2014, 09:13 AM   #2
livingsober

Cool Desperate

Hi all,
Have I scared everyone off? Just a bit about me. I've been drinking for 15 years now. I first started when my youngest was about one. My grandmother died at the same time who was my only real family. At the same time my marriage collapsed. So i started drinking alcoholically. After that was a whirlwind of psychiatrists which did nothing to help. One made me go to the gym everyday; still no help. I spent a few years in and out of a private psychiatric hospital. This was due to my exhusband who kept locking me up and eventually used this to take my kids away. Two years later I met my expartner who was a great guy. No locking me up. But he proved to be domestically violent. So violent I was too scared to drink in case he bashed me for it. Anyway we broke up and I am still struggling with the grog.
Unread 10-17-2014, 09:21 AM   #3
jenm

Hi Livingsober!

You have not scared anyone off. Many of our stories are very similar. Alcoholics who cross that invisible line into "needing" the drink and when it becomes our main thought - we are all here.

The good news is that you do not have to drink today. I'm just starting my day and I think that is a wonderful idea!

And Tryn - I am so very very proud of you. You are handling life as it comes and you are thinking through the first drink. Yay! Jenm
jenm is offline   Reply With Quote
One User Says Thank You to jenm For This Useful Post:
Thank You (10-18-2014)
Unread 10-17-2014, 09:21 AM   #4
Tryntryagain

Hello Living Sober. Bright blessings to you.